“While Domino’s new Gluten Free Crust is appropriate for those with mild gluten sensitivity, Domino’s and the NFCA do not recommend it for those with celiac disease. Domino’s and the NFCA found that while the crust is certified as gluten free, current store operations at Domino’s cannot guarantee that each handcrafted pizza will be completely free from gluten.”
“Please be advised all of Domino’s menu items, including pizza made with Gluten Free Crust, are prepared in a common kitchen. While the Gluten Free Crust contains no gluten ingredients, there is a risk of gluten exposure. NFCA supports the availability of Gluten Free Crust at Domino’s, but CANNOT recommend the pizza for customers with celiac disease. Customers with gluten-related disorders other than celiac disease should exercise their own judgment in consuming pizza made with Gluten Free Crust."
- The Gluten Free Crust is stored in a separate area of the walk-in cooler until it is ordered.
- The Gluten Free Crust pizza is made on the same pizza screen and uses the same makeline, ingredients, and utensils as all other pizzas.
- Employees use the same pizza peel and pizza cutter on the Gluten Free Crust pizza as all other pizzas.
- There is no airborne flour in the store. Domino’s® ingredients that contain gluten and should not be added to a Gluten Free Crust are, Philly meat, Alfredo sauce, and Cheddar sauce.
So what are the facts that we know at this time? The crust is indeed certified gluten-free, however each pizza will be prepared and cooked along side non-gluten-free pizzas, and the pizza is not intended for folks who are extra sensitive or have celiac disease. Oh and by the way, just like every other gluten-free product, it will be $3 dollars extra.